According to the European Union's General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR), your customers have the right to have their personal data corrected. Editing customer data might also be necessary if a customer accidentally entered wrong or incomplete data. In any case, this is how to do so:
- In the sidebar of your cockpit, select Customers.
If you would like to get more information about the Customer overview in general, we recommend to read our article Learn about customer management.
- Select the name of the customer you would like to edit from the list.
- You can edit the information on the following cards: Customer details (except the customer number and the customer status), Billing address, and Shipping address. The information displayed on the Order history and Customer timeline card are automatically generated by the system and cannot be edited. Selectin the upper right corner of the card that includes the information you would like to edit.
- Adjust the entries according to your needs. Please keep the following aspects in mind while doing so:
- The customer info, shipping address, and billing address of already existing orders placed by the respective customer will not be updated. If you would like to apply your changes to these orders, you will have to manually edit the respective order.
- The first name and last name of the billing address cannot be updated on the Billing address card. Instead, you can edit this data on the Customer details card. It will then be automatically applied to the billing address.
- The customer location cannot be updated on the Customer details card. It will always be automatically taken over from the current billing address.
- If registered customers log in during the checkout process, their address data will be pre-filled in order to allow a faster checkout experience. If you change a registered customer's billing or shipping address in the cockpit, the updated billing or shipping address will be used to pre-fill the address data for the respective customer.
- You will always see the customer details and addresses the customer entered for their last order. This also means that changes you have made for registered customers will be overwritten with the next order for which the customer logs in if the customer enters data that deviates from your entries.
- You can not change the email address of a registered customer, but registered customers can change their email address in their customer account. If they do so, this change will also be reflected on that customer’s Customer details card in your cockpit. For unregistered customers, you can change their email addresses.
- Select Save.
The customer information was updated. The respective changes will be tracked on the Customer timeline card. This way, you can easily keep track of changes you've made and for example check back on former comments that you've left for the customer and that you may have edited or deleted in the meantime. Please be aware that the Customer timeline card only tracks changes made by you. If the customer information is changed because the customer entered deviating data during the checkout process, there won't be a dedicated timeline entry.